Skip to content

Silk’s “Lose Control:” Well, That Escalated Quickly.

November 13, 2012

Recently, Smyph reminded me of how hard Silk’s “Lose Control” went–and still goes.  It’s right up there with Boyz II Men’s “50 Candles” on my list of 1990s songs worth having sex to (and let me tell you, “50 Candles” is sacred to me.  When I’m feeling sad and down on myself, I lay out some polka dot pajamas, run a bubble bath and pretend I’m in the video).

This song, though, is intense as hell.  It’s not odd for R&B songs to end in a chorus of strong screamy ad libs, but that doesn’t typically start happening before the first minute and a half.  Here – skip to 1:05 and as you listen, imagine what these dudes’ vocal cords must have felt like by minute 2.  They proceed to sing their entire faces off the entire song.

Something else that always threw me off about this song.  The first line:  “Last night, we had an argument–you told me you loved me.”  Did they have a fight because she told him she loves him?

Lady:  I love you, baby.
Dude:  GETTIN REAL TIRED OF YOUR BULLSHIT, LONETTA

Or was it the other way around?

At any rate, the most ridiculous thing about this song is that Silk isn’t in a studio somewhere right now.  Them boys sang.  You *have* to watch them sing this song live at the Apollo (question – who stapled all that construction paper to Mark Curry’s vest?).  Check out the lead getting in your girlfriend’s face and showing your favorite singer how it’s done at the end.

Sang. His.  Face.  OFF.

Maybe that’s why they’re not singing anymore.  Kinda hard to tour without a face.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. seansmyph permalink*
    November 13, 2012 1:16 am

    My guy from SILK straight up did the JT Mathews from the Five Heartbeats! Gotta love it. http://youtu.be/R36oiWepS9U

Leave a comment