Skip to content

Open Discussion: And the Award for Ugliest R&B Group Goes To…

July 21, 2010

If I had it my way, these guys would win.

I mean, okay.  I guess JoJo’s not THAT bad.  But K-Ci looks like… well, he looks like this.  And that will bring any group’s handsomeness quotient down.

I’ve tried to think of an uglier group, and I just can’t right now.  Help?  Ya’ll got somethin’ that can trump that face?

| 1 |

30 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 5:25 pm

    I tweeted this, but my sentiments remain the same. Dru Hill, hands down. Nokio’s delicious face wasn’t enough to carry the ugly weight of the remaining members – they brought down his property value. Sisqo’s blonde fade? Jazz’s oily sweaty essence? The Leftover one’s existence (he had an S-CURL!)? Just….NAWL. Return to sender.

    • July 22, 2010 4:49 pm

      LOL! sisqo wasnt BAD looking though, was he? like in the face? if u could look past the blonde hair?
      and i dont even think i know what the other ones look like. i just know that one was big and the others werent.

      they werent HANDSOME, but did u see k-ci’s face up there?? like, REALLY see it??

    • July 22, 2010 4:50 pm

      okay. the twins look kinda like bulldogs, but the other two arent BAD. acceptably average, id say.

      k-ci would still win in an ugly fight.

    • July 22, 2010 4:50 pm

      LOL it’s hard for me to separate Troop’s tragically 90s sense of style and their actual appearance. so i cant say.

  2. July 21, 2010 5:50 pm

    Nope… K-Ci and JoJo would win the award… hands down. There is no other competition in my opinion.

  3. July 21, 2010 6:25 pm

    Boyz II Men. 4 of Philly’s goofiest lookin varmints who could sang.

    • July 22, 2010 4:51 pm

      NO WAY!! okay three of them were weird looking but the one with the deep voice and polio or whatever was cute! i had a crush on him!!

      • July 22, 2010 8:26 pm

        He ain’t in the group no more, enjoy lookin at the rest of them creatures sang.

  4. soulsike permalink
    July 21, 2010 10:18 pm

    Now you know Xscape wins this, hands down…

    • Lite Bread permalink
      July 22, 2010 3:47 pm

      HEY!!!!!!!
      That’s just uncalled for, lol.
      I always thought the short one in Xscape, with the leg warmers as pants/bra as a top, was kinds Hot.

      You could have made a case for the Pointer Sister’s. Maybe. If anybody remember’s that far back.
      But then as a tiny weenie kiddie I always liked the taller one with the big ….

      • July 24, 2010 3:38 pm

        You mean Tiny of Tiny and Toya infamy. I always thought she looked like Mariah’s mini-me. I thinkXscape’s ugly was bad PR because of Biggie’s line on Dreams:

        “I put Chante Moore’s pussy in stitches/I’d fuck RuPaul before I fuck Those ugly ass Xscape bitches”

        Also, Four by Four was some ugly mofos. So ugly, I couldn’t find a picture on the ‘Net. They might be ugly enough to disprove Eddie Murphy’s “Singers Get Pussy” theory.

        Then again, Seal did land Heidi Klum so maybe that’s a law now.

      • Lite Bread permalink
        July 27, 2010 11:28 pm

        @theunseen714,
        LOL@ the Eddie Murphy quote. So true …look at Lil’ Wayne. Or as Awesomely Luvvie calls him “The Human Cockroach”

        Heidi Klum?! God, a WY-T chick?! Yuck!
        Give me Venus or Serena Williams ANY daum day!

        As far as the Biggie quote …uh …
        I don’t like Misogyny. Women deserve Respect. As in being, well, A Person. A/A women DO have a right to some level of Personal Dignity being accorded to them, Ya think?

      • July 28, 2010 2:34 pm

        @Lite Bread, I wouldn’t go as far as to extending the theory to rappers.

        My point in regards to Klum & Seal is that very few women are impervious to the charms of a cat that can sing. What can be said? I have a white girlfriend and I would prefer Serena Williams to Heidi Klum too.

        I am not a fan of Biggie’s characterization in that song…he went beeeeeeyond over the line on that one. I brought it up because I never heard anyone bash Xscape’s looks until then. I have heard people be critical of their singing, but not their looks. Plus he was wrong. The ladies from Xscape weren’t ugly, Tiny included.

        When you think about it, who is ugly anyway?

        One woman’s “what the hell?!” is another woman’s Denzel.

      • Lite Bread permalink
        July 28, 2010 5:03 pm

        @deac714,
        Well, even the “15 seconds of Fame” type rappers snag a honey; for 15 seconds at least. Which manages to totally trump (not Donald) my non-love-life.
        But, point taken. R(&B) Kelly’s always have somebody, don’t they.

        On the rest. I appreciate your honesty and tact. Props. I do like some (some) Biggie stuff, but you’re right, that was way over the limit (though I will admit the ‘F-ing RuPaul first’ was kinda a funny line).
        I always salivated at Xscape (nothin’ new there for me, huh?), so maybe I was just sore about it.

        As far as the “ugly”, so true! I got a funny/but/totally true story ‘bout that. Years back, a friend of mine (yes, an A/A male) chastised me in front of the guys about “always dating the girls too dark and too ugly for the rest of us”. LOL. He even dropped a reference to the old Betty Wright song, calling me “The Clean-up Man”!
        It was all in good fun and taste. We all laughed so Hard! Uh, because it was True!

        Then again, I think I must hit the Definition of “Ugly”, ‘cause times is Hard fer me abouts now …

    • July 22, 2010 4:52 pm

      you know what, i didnt even think about girl groups in considering this. hmmm.

      tiny vs. k-ci. i’ll have to stew on this for a bit.

      • Lite Bread permalink
        July 22, 2010 6:27 pm

        Ms. Brokey?
        ‘Member what I was sayin’ about you pickin’ on the guys all the time?
        Uh Huh?

        It’s all OK. ‘Cause I probably won’t think they (the girlie’s) were “ugly” anyways knowin’ me … LOL!

        Does Robin Thicke count as R&B? (Or just “Fake”?) ‘Cause HE gets my Nomination here (probably ’cause I just jealous of his wife … but that’s good enough reason fer me!)

  5. Peachesc permalink
    July 22, 2010 7:51 pm

    What about pretty rickey. I know that they are mid 2000s but if ur ugly as all get out, the name ‘pretty’ should not be in the tittle.

    • July 23, 2010 1:43 am

      I forgot about them. Slick ’em looks like the frog from Smacks cereal.

      • October 2, 2010 7:54 am

        “Slick ‘em looks like the frog from Smacks cereal.”

        I just spit out a huge glob of something reading that quote.

  6. July 23, 2010 3:05 am

    My vote is from pretty ricky. Omg. I could not look at those boys.

  7. MrQ45 permalink
    July 23, 2010 6:49 am

    So we’re just going to forgot how ugly New Edition was? Then there was Tony! Toni! Toné!. They might trump K-Ci & JoJo simply out of sheer numbers of ugly group members.

  8. MrQ45 permalink
    July 23, 2010 6:50 am

    Well, there goes my accent creeping into my typing again. “Going to forgot”. Dang. Now I look all kinds of ignorant.

  9. July 24, 2010 9:39 pm

    Excuse me? Ronnie and ralph make up for the other members, who weren’t ugly, just… Plain. Even bobby was cute til whitney.

  10. July 27, 2010 7:14 pm

    All 4 One, I swear by the moon the starruhs and da sun those are some unfortunate fellas about the face…

  11. cjb1879 permalink
    July 28, 2010 6:14 pm

    Soooo… no one’s going to mention 112? Those were four of the ugliest dudes I’d ever seen. Not to mention awkward. Though their music said otherwise, I felt that group was the very opposite of the “smooth R&B singer” stereotype. Ugly and awkward…that’s all I have to say about that.

  12. Maliyah permalink
    February 29, 2012 5:20 am

    Soul for Real.

    Ugly brothers who look like Craig Mack.

Leave a Reply

