Skip to content

Open Discussion: Dude, Are You Listening to Enya??

June 24, 2010

While scrolling through these hallowed pages, I realized that it’d been awhile since we sat down and fellowshipped as a family.  So c’mon.  Go grab your snuggies and a bag of hot fries and let’s get familiar.

So we all have a song or two or seven that we’d die if anybody else heard us singing.  The one you scream at the top of your lungs when you’re alone in your shower or picking your nose in your car.

I actually don’t think I have very many guilty musical pleasures.  The first one that jumps out at me is Soulja Boy’s “Turn My Swag On…” I think that was the last one that I’d deny loving if confronted about it in public.  It’s a horrible song.  Absolutely terrible.  But I STILL get hype when it comes on.

And this is the hardest to admit, I think:  R. Kelly’s “Trapped in the Closet.”  It got stuck in my head to the point that… I actually started to enjoy listening to it.  Don’t judge me.  Thanks.

Hopefully I’ll remember others as ya’ll cop to your musical transgressions.  Come on, it’s okay–this is a safe place.

| 1 |

27 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 5:39 pm

    My guilty musical pleasure, as much as I despise everything else this “artist” has put out, is Plies-Plenty Money (or as I like to call it “Plenny Munny”). I can’t get enough of that song and I doubt I ever will. With bars like “I like my bitches hood, but all my whips foreign/
    Just bought another house, the last one was boring” what’s there not to feel guilty about liking a song like this?! *hangs head in shame*

  2. June 24, 2010 5:42 pm

    😦
    Drake…and Katy Perry.

    • June 24, 2010 5:45 pm

      hey man, i ride for katy perry!

      i think that one of the reasons i havent made any effort to listen to drake is because it’ll just make my guilty pleasure list longer. and because i don’t believe in what his hairline is doing.

  3. June 24, 2010 5:43 pm

    Nearly any DJ Khaled song. Currently I like that “All I Do is Win” nonsense. I can’t help but yell out “evrahboddeh hanns go upppp…andeystadeh” along w/ T-Pain. Also, “All the Way Turnt Up” by whoever that is. My last one is so shameful that I’m hesitant to share, but you said this is a safe place & all…so Ilikedmusicbyotown. *cuts & runs*

    • June 24, 2010 5:45 pm

      …O-TOWN!!

      • June 24, 2010 5:47 pm

        Damn @ O-Town…I’m from Orlando, and All Or Nothing has been stuck in my head plenty of times. *hangs head in shame again*

  4. Snacks permalink
    June 24, 2010 6:03 pm

    I won’t lie. At the ripe age of 14, I *actually* asked for the Gettin Jiggy With It Album, and it actually got spins.

    • dazzlingurbanite permalink
      June 24, 2010 11:55 pm

      Um I got that album too and I used to wear it out. I will always love Will Smith.

  5. Gem permalink
    June 24, 2010 6:17 pm

    Cash Money/Hot Boyz/Big Tymers.

    *slinks away*

    • June 24, 2010 7:12 pm

      OMG! dont u never feel bad about loving cash money and nem! they are well deserving of praise!

      • Gem permalink
        June 24, 2010 8:19 pm

        I actually slunk away to do donuts in the parking lot to Everybody Get Yo Roll On.

  6. Lite Bread permalink
    June 24, 2010 6:42 pm

    Alicia Keys and …
    “Like You’ll Never See Me Again”

    ‘Cause ruff-neck, uh, whiteboy’s (Pump, Pump) ain’t supos’ to like sissy stuff like that.

    But that song puts a tear in my eye everytime.

  7. Lite Bread permalink
    June 24, 2010 6:44 pm

    And I remember a dirty joke about …

    “what’s Enya girl?”

  8. June 24, 2010 7:15 pm

    Ghost town DJ’s, “My Boo”. That shit is infectious.

    • Brandon Jones permalink
      June 26, 2010 1:51 am

      If loving My Boo is wrong, I cain’t do right.

      • June 26, 2010 3:59 am

        It’s impossible not to do the bankhead bounce while it’s playing

  9. Roxy permalink
    June 24, 2010 7:19 pm

    Right now it’s B.O.B – Nothing On You FT Bruno Mars. It’s so damn sappy and ridiculous yet catchy.

    Robin Thicke ft. Nicki Minaj – Shakin It For Daddy.

    I really hate Nicki Minaj but love roasting her rhymes, especially “I’m a ninja, cowabunga time!” Besides, the beat makes me want to jump on a pole….

  10. seansmyph permalink*
    June 24, 2010 8:59 pm

    -I miss my homies by master p

    -Oh na na by lil john

    -Promise you by NSYNC

    this song by Master P….http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O0d09UMV6qo

    and many many more…

  11. dazzlingurbanite permalink
    June 24, 2010 11:33 pm

    Oh god. I could make my own blog post about my guilty music pleasures. I also enjoy turning my swag on but here’s some stuff no one has mentioned.

    Heart – Alone

    Random country like Tim McGraw’s I Like It, I Love It

    I know I’m wrong for Danity Kane’s Damaged, but I can’t help it

    BIG BOOTY HOES HOP WID’ IT

    And, of course: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQw4w9WgXcQ

    I’m so sorry.

    • Lite Bread permalink
      June 25, 2010 12:13 am

      DAZZLINGGURBANITE!!!!
      I Died on that last one!
      Ever heard of being “Rick Rolled”?
      Here’s a link:

      Hate me later …

  12. rachellehcar permalink
    June 25, 2010 3:45 am

    I second Ghost Town DJs.

    – Crazy Bitch- Buckcherry

    – Anything by Nickelback

    – Like a Pimp- David Banner & Lil Flip

    – Bedrock, Every Girl… Young Money fuckery in general

    Cheesey rock and misogynistic rap are my biggest guilty pleasures without a doubt.

  13. June 25, 2010 4:08 am

    Hmmm… I had the whole ace of base album and know all the words to all the songs. Sometimes I start singing “its a beautiful life, oh, ohhhh…”

    Also, because of the *, *nsync is the first artist on my zune. So everyone can see I have “tearin up my heart.”

  14. Caspercutie permalink
    June 25, 2010 4:55 am

    Skee-Lo’s cover of the Tale of Mr. Morton. From the Schoolhouse Rock! Rocks CD. It’s catchy.

  15. June 25, 2010 8:08 am

    T Pain’s “Can’t Believe It” – Me and my bestie may or may not have been known to yell FUEGO! everywhere we go. o_0

    I also may or may not have Trick Daddy’s discography in my iPod.

    This is of course all alleged.

  16. misterpalmer permalink
    June 25, 2010 10:44 am

    @Chauncey-I feel you on the PLENNY MUNNY. I think Twerkteam did a video to that…and now I like the song.
    @Dazzlingurbanite, I feel you on the DAMAGED. I’d like to add like 8 other DK songs to that list. But, I got a better idea…let’s take it back…waaaay back…

    Karate Spice was SO damn butch! I think she was gettin it in with Davidbekhams Spice…And Mixed Spice and Redhead Spice were pretty hot imo…

    As a music fiend, I have many more; but I didn’t wanna hog ALL the space!

  17. Fiqah permalink
    June 29, 2010 6:33 pm

    Ath. Tid-dieth. Ath and tiddieth. Ath, ath, tiddieth, tiddieth, ath and tid-dieth.

  18. That Dude Formerly Known as SMH permalink
    June 29, 2010 7:23 pm

    Ummm, well if we must…’Sponsor’ by Tearria Mari – Gucci Mane & Soulja Boy; the unholy triumverate…

    I used to own a BSB album (Backstreet’s Back tonight!), Danity Kane, Dj Khaled – All I Do is Win

    Big Booty Bytches…Whooooooooooo!

    that’s all I’m copping to for now

Leave a Reply

