Skip to content

Wait for it…

April 26, 2010

…How long did it take you to notice that they were Asian and not singing completely in English??!

These dudes are the L.L. Brothers.  Swear on everything, I watched for like 1:20 and didn’t know.  I just thought they were from way way down in the deep south or somethin’.  They got that sh!t DOWN, right??  Perfect stereotypical generalized 90s r&b video.

  • Song title consisting of some combination of bumping, grinding, freaking, humping, and sexing
  • Jackets, sans shirts beneath them
  • Stripper moves, complete with body rolls and pelvic thrusts
  • Synchronized strobe light dance break
  • Head-to-toe pleather, motherf#cker!

I don’t know how your souls are feeling about this right now, but it doesn’t matter.  I’m filing this under “awesomesauce” and learning (what I assume is) Japanese STAT.

They have a metric ton of videos.  Shout out to c_blak, who sent me to “Marry Me,” which lead me to this gem.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Lite Bread permalink
    April 26, 2010 7:23 pm

    Ms. Brokey,
    I can’t believe you landed right on top of (not me, lol) a subject my littlest girl and I were talkin’ about at length the other day.

    When is a ‘Perfect stereotype’ no longer a stereotype, but actual ‘God’s honest truth’? Once certain items/actions/behaviors become so firmly attached to a group (hence your comments about not even realizing they weren’t … uh … do I insert the stereotype, lol?) are they actually stereotypes? Are they “bad” to mention? How do you differentiate? Who can or cannot reference them, and in what context?

    It became a very interesting conversation.
    And it all started with a watermelon and fried chicken comment from her, lol!

  2. Lite Bread permalink
    April 26, 2010 7:25 pm

    Oh, and if they’d thrown in the Autotone, I bet you’da neva figured it out, lol!

  3. April 26, 2010 8:45 pm

    I don’t understand what they are saying, but I can still feel it. They’re kinda like Pootie Tang.

  4. April 27, 2010 5:47 am

    So my asian friend said they’re japanese mobsters. Not sure if that’s true but I definitely thought they were black. I’ve never seen asians with a tan.

  5. April 27, 2010 1:43 pm

    Yeah, dude definitely started the song saying “Come on DJ…..”

    There’s just enough English in their music to reel you in for the big revelation. My wife was like, “what’s wrong with that one dude’s voic…ooohhh”

  6. Hank Nasty permalink
    April 28, 2010 12:00 am

    These guys should have been on the “Romeo Must Die” soundtrack.

  7. MrQ45 permalink
    April 28, 2010 7:13 pm

    Hilarious. How recent is this? They are quintessentially 1998 in their choice of wardrobe and video style. Even the beat sounds like Timbo-produced Aaliyah/Ginuwine stuff.

  8. May 1, 2010 2:28 am

    This reminds me of listening to my friend’s husband talk to his moms… he’s Black and Filipino, so he’ll be all like, “Awwww, hell naw, Mama…” then break into Tagalog all fast as hell. It always takes my brain a minute to catch on to the code-switching.

  9. May 6, 2010 2:46 am

    Were R.L., Ginuwine, and Sisqo over in Asia teaching workshops or something? What the hell?

    • misterpalmer permalink
      May 6, 2010 6:07 pm

      That’s what I’M sayin! That was EXTREMELY Sisquo-esque…

      • Lite Bread permalink
        May 6, 2010 6:16 pm

        Got yer Thong on then?

  10. June 19, 2010 8:58 pm

    Definitely Japanese.

Leave a Reply

