Skip to content

Open Discussion: Tickle Tickle Beeper Stroll?

April 7, 2010

"Scuse meeee while I kiss this guuuy!" (c) Jimi Hendrix, "Purple Haze"

There’s nothing funnier than listening to somebody belt their favorite song at the top of their voice–in the wrong words.  I like to make up words to songs in general anyway, so when it comes to a song that I really like but don’t know the words to?  Horrible things are wont to happen.  Miraculously though, I am drawing a complete blank when it comes to my most common and historic mishead song lyrics.  The only thing that jumps to mind is the breakdown on Erykah Badu’s “Can’t Turn Me Away” off her latest album New Amerykah: Return of the Ankh.  I’m good until the breakdown, then I just kinda go off and do my own thing because I really like the song and I really want to sing it, and I don’t understand why me not knowing the words has to be a barrier.

I noticed recently that I’ve effectively rewritten that entire part of the song, because each time I sing the same set of nonsensical, non-correct lyrics.  Here’s the song (which is a jam, by the way); forward to the 3:39 mark or so.  Here’s what I think she’s saying here:

This love just can’t be cold
Electric parking calls
Down to the minute waltz
Tickle tickle beeper stroll
I know you’re farting ’cause
I know you’re burning holes
You know that I excell
And now you take some pills

…I’m pretty sure that’s not right.  Or hell, maybe it is.  This is Erykah Badu we talkin’ about.  Lol.

I also want to share some completely wrong lines from my bestie, whose eardrums apparently have something against Marvin Gaye, because he’s always heard “I can’t wait for you to operate” as “I can’t wait for you to ovulate,” and “Like an eagle protects his nest” as “Like a nigga protects his nest.”  Both of those provide HILARIOUS mental images.

So, how bout you guys?  What fucked up lyrics of your friend’s/mama’s/boo’s are your favorites?  What gaffes are you yourself guilty of making in the middle of an impassioned shower concert?  Hopefully I’ll remember more of mine as the discussion rolls on.

But if not, I’m more than content in laughing at yall.  🙂

|via|

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    April 7, 2010 2:02 pm

    A buddy of mine sang Rolling Stone’s “Beast of Burden” as “I’ll never leave your pizza burning…” instead of “I’ll never be your beast of burden…”

  2. DazzlingRayn permalink
    April 7, 2010 2:15 pm

    Okay, that song, Be Thankful For What You Got…you know, “diamond in the back, sun roof top…”? I always thought he was saying “gangsta white boys, tv antenna in the back…” In my defense, I didn’t know what “gangsta while walls” were in my youth.

    I’m sure I can think of more…nobody in my family can hear.

    • April 7, 2010 9:57 pm

      LOL. can you see Huggie Bear ridin aroudn with these dudes in the back seat?

      • DazzlingRayn permalink
        April 8, 2010 7:22 am

        SHAMWOW I have the shirt that fat kid is wearing, it says Know Your Roots. AWESOME.

  3. TeeBee permalink
    April 7, 2010 10:55 pm

    I LOVE this topic!!! Two instances come to mind. My roommate in college and I were singing Zhane’s “Hey Mr. DJ”. We get to the line where she sings “I am ready to call my friends, so we can all get down, where’s the parrrty, Mr. DJ?” and roomie looks at me and asks, What’s NOOGIE DOWN? I had no clue until she sang it again: “I am ready to call my friends, so we can NOOGIE DOWN, where’s the parrrty, Mr. DJ?” I cried! We still joke about that! The other is a friend who thought Prince’s father’s name was TUBO (too’ boh). For years she jacked up “When Doves Cry” by singing “Maybe I’m just like my father, TUBO” instead of “Maybe I’m just like my father, TOO BOLD”.

    • April 8, 2010 8:38 pm

      lol so are they saying “so we can boogie down” or “so we can go get down?”

      bc to this day, i sing “so we can go get down” :-/

      • TeeBee permalink
        April 8, 2010 10:53 pm

        SEE?!?! I always said “SO WE CAN ALL GET DOWN”! I don’t even know anymore!

  4. Lite Bread permalink
    April 7, 2010 11:03 pm

    Ms. Brokey!
    THIS IS IT! So funny! ‘Cause I do the exact same thing.
    In fact, I often don’t really pay attention to the lyrics because I love making up my own better. My youngest once hollered over my horrible singing “Dang Dad, you don’t know one single word to that song!” (I do the same with movies, much to the eternal annoyance of my kiddie’s. Hey! My lines are always so much better than the lame stuff actually used).

    One of My fav’s was me warbling out my made-up line to a great classic AC/DC song “You Shook Me All Night Long”:
    “Knockin’ me Up with those black girl thighs”
    Did this at work. In front of others. I got caught up in the moment of the song and did that one. They all stood there and stared.
    (You can yell “Fetish” now, lol!)

    And I loved me “Be Thankful for what you Got” as an ittie-bittie-kiddie myself!

    Now, about misappropriating THE Mr. Jimi Hendrix’s lyrics … I think there is a special punishment for such heresy.

  5. April 8, 2010 5:16 am

    I thought it was “noogie down” too! I mean, is it our fault she says it like that?

    My worst is “rollin down the strip like Bone” as in bone thugs n harmony. I think the real lyrics from outkast’s “elevators” is “rolling down the strip like vogues.”

    • April 8, 2010 5:10 pm

      lol i thought they were sayin “rollin down the strip on fours.” lol

    • TeeBee permalink
      April 8, 2010 11:00 pm

      Aaah! Not you, too? NOOGIE DOWN! LMAO! I guess it”s not your fault if at least 2 people said the same thing! Wait till I tell Ol’ Roomie that she’s not the only one!

  6. Roxy permalink
    April 11, 2010 4:54 pm

    I’m always late to these things.

    Anyway, as a child I thought the chorus to Rufus/Chicago Street Player was: “Street Fighter’s playing in my mind”.

    I found out a few months ago the words are ” Street sounds swirling through my mind”.

    To make matters worse, I was basing these lyrics from a house mix by The Bucketheads-The Bomb. They themselves have the words wrong! “These sounds fall into my mind”

    I still sing the wrong lyrics, visualizing Ryu & Ken going at it.

  7. April 12, 2010 11:59 am

    OKAY! i remembered another one over the weekend. in andre 3000’s “Vibrate” from The Love Below, when he says “play with your own scoresheet,” i thought he was saying:

    “play with your own squooshie.”

    i dont know what a squooshie is or what it could possibly mean
    i was just like ‘eh, its andre. he weird.’

  8. April 15, 2010 5:59 pm

    When Dru Hill first came out, I loved them. Dont judge me.
    Anyway, there is an adlib in their first single, “Tell Me” (the video where they hop all over the stage), when Sisqo sings “Versace, I don’t care” in an attempt to convince the lady in his life that she can have whatever her heart desires. For years, I thought he was bellowing “Versace eyeliner” and I wondered, does Versace really have eyeliner? And if they do, out of all of the things he could shout out to impress a woman, why is Sisqo mentioning eyeliner? Is that whats hot in the streets?

    My bad, Sisqo lol

  9. April 16, 2010 1:54 pm

    I finally remember a lyrical blunder I made & ppl clowned me for it for YEARS. Ok, in SWV’s “Weak” in the 2nd verse when it says “Resistance is down/when you’re around/pride’s fading…”, I thought she said “Resistance is down/when you’re around/Christ baby”. I figured, she was saying “Christ, baby!” instead of using the more popular “Jesus” when taking the Lord’s name in vain, hahaha. I sang it like this until a few years ago when my homie clowned the hell outta me and finally told me the real lyrics.

    • April 16, 2010 3:13 pm

      OMG I THOUGHT THIS SAME THING!!!!

      only i thought she meant “Christ baby” as in “Baby Jesus.” i was like ‘wow, this is a gospel song? i never would have guessed.’

      LOL

    • April 16, 2010 3:53 pm

      I honestly thought she was saying “Christ fading…”. If you hadn’t posted the lyrics just now in, I’d still be lost. lmao

  10. Lite Bread permalink
    April 17, 2010 12:27 am

    Well all this talk of SUV made me think of, not a misinterpreted set of lyrics, but rather embarrassed-I’m-singin’-‘em lyrics. And it wasn’t SUV either, but another girl-group of the same genre, Blaque (which I did like, my punka## self, lol).

    So … I’m hollerin’ out “Boom like an 808, circles like a figure 8 …” and some guy tells me …
    “Uh, Lite-Bro, dudes don’t say THAT, OK?”

    I stood corrected.

    But I still Boom like an …
    empty shell

  11. May 1, 2010 2:51 am

    Umm… just thanks, coz now every time I listen to that track I hear Erykah plain as day singing “tickle, tickle beeper stroll…”

  12. JCAMYLLE permalink
    July 14, 2010 7:54 pm

    I think she is saying this:
    This love is chemical
    Electric particles
    Down to the minimal
    Tickle tickle ego stroke
    I love your follicles
    I know you’ve heard it all
    You know that I am skilled
    Just how you want to feel

Trackbacks

  1. BRB! « Splackavellie Central

Leave a Reply

