Skip to content

Upon Further Reflection:

March 16, 2010

"I have a dream that one day, little black boys everywhere will like it and put a ring on it!"

I can do for you what Martin did for the people.

Oh, can you, now?  You can take someone who has been stripped of his most basic human rights because of the color of his skin, campaign endlessly in the face of a world that wants you dead, and ultimately die in the fight to bring social justice and equality to all, regardless of their race, thus securing your place in American history as a champion of civil rights?

Oh, you can’t?

Oh.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 7:48 pm

    (in a church lady voice) WELL!!!

  2. Ralonda permalink
    March 16, 2010 9:02 pm

    I can just see it…Little old ladies in church on Sundays, choir sangin’ them all into the spirit, chuch mothers cooling folks down with their…BEYONCE FANS?!
    Oh, hell naw.

  3. Lite Bread permalink
    March 17, 2010 1:15 am

    Ms. Brokey,
    The minute I read this I had a rather hideous backflash to ….
    Lil’ Boosie …
    “Hatin’” …
    Where he had this to say…

    “From da cradle to the grave Ima always be a hustler
    As long as u succeed they gon always be a buster
    They hated Dr.King they hated when he marched
    They hated Malcolm X and they hated Rosa Parks”

    Anytime I hear someone like this connect themselves in any way to Dr. King, Malcolm or Ms. Parks I get this all itchy feeling of apostasy/heretical sumthin-or-other on my skin.

    Now, about that ‘put a ring on it’ bit. I got a ring. I got nobody’s finger to put it on …

  4. MosSteph permalink
    March 17, 2010 6:49 pm

    Thank you so much for this! I cringe everytime I hear that line. You took the words right out of my mouth.

Leave a Reply

