Skip to content

DMX Kills People in a Party Song.

October 30, 2012

I’MA KILL YOU RIGHT AFTER I DO THE KID N’ PLAY WIT MY MANS & NEM!

DMX’s “Get It On The Floor” is kind of bi-polar.  You know what probably happened with this song?  DMX was probably walking into the studio with a huge stack of random items.  A pizza box, a set of encyclopedias, a basketball, three of those pink flamingo lawn ornament things your Memaw has in her front lawn, a really big Dagwood sandwich, and and the top of all that, two binders.  One binder full of song verses, and another binder full of song choruses.  As soon as he get into the studio, someone says, “Oh, hey, X, I’m glad you’re here; can you hold this feather for me?” and they toss the feather on top of all his stuff and it becomes to heavy and his legs do the wobbly cartoon thing for like 5 minutes and just when you think he’s got it, he falls and it all comes crashing down.  Then all the verses and choruses get mixed up.  Frustrated and unwilling to put all the correct verses and choruses together, DMX randomly picks two and steps inside the booth.
That’s how you get a party song full of murder, guns, death and bullets and slit throats.

Now to be fair, what DMX songs aren’t about killing people (also, fellatio)?  It could very well be that DMX just can’t not talk about killing people, and this song makes a very strong case for that.  “Get It On The Floor” seems to be a song about getting on the dance floor and having a good old diddy boppin’ time, until you get to the first verse.  And the second.  And the third.  I’ll paraphrase:

[chorus]

Hey everybody, it’s time to dance!
We’re havin’ a party!  Hey alright!  This is cool!
Let’s go to the dance floor and have a good time!
Everybody likes to dance! Check out this move!

[verse 1]

I SAW THIS NIGGA IN THE STREET AND THEN I SHOT EM
HE LOOKED AT ME TOO LONG
I POKED HIS EYES OUT WITH A PENCIL AND WROTE A LETTER TO HIS MOMS
IN HIS OWN BLOOD
I PUT SOME DYNAMITE IN HIS EARS AND LIT IT
DEATH DEATH DIE NIGGA YOU GOTTA GO

[chorus]

Wow this party’s jumpin!  It’s a really good time!
Remember this dance?  What about that dance?
This DJ is awesome!  I’m working up a sweat!
I’m thirsty, but this is my song, I can’t leave now!

[verse 2]

I SEEN YO COUSIN AT THE MALL SO I THREW A GRENADE AT EM
NOW HIS ARMS IS AT BATH AND BODYWORKS
BUT HIS HEAD IS IN DICK’S SPORTING GOODS
SPEAKIN OF DICKS YOU CAN SUCK MINE REAL SLOW
BUT IMA KILL YOU FIRST WITH THIS BAZOOKA FULL OF PIRANHAS
MURDER MURDER MURDER MURDER MURDER

And so on and so forth.
Now obviously those aren’t the actual lyrics, but I’m not far off.  Seriously, go look.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 2, 2012 4:32 am

    I could’ve sworn DMX is bipolar for real. I think he spoke of it in a song or an interview.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

